Complexities

Drawing is the muscle memory of shapes and where shadows go in conjunction with them. Art, however, is a synergy between the ever evolving human condition and immaculate conception. The resulting arch of static tension manifests within any mind that makes a connection with the experience – positive or negative. Art is the cold dry air, the carpet brushed socks, the graceful beginnings of a well-intentioned kiss and the formidable resulting shock.

Tags: , , , ,

7 Responses to “Complexities”

  1. Leah Says:

    This is a great piece, Matt! Wish creating art felt that way for me–mostly it’s just frustrating. 🙂

    • megaberg Says:

      Creation is certainly a burden on the creator. But, think of how boring it would be if the process were easy. Even when things come naturally, to truly resonate, expression is most often weighted by things like fear, loss, and unrequited devotion. Even pure love, like that which we have for our children, is a labor.

  2. Jessica Jones Says:

    Love this Matt!

  3. The Crow's Gift Says:

    You have a way of putting words together beautifully. The last line here reminds me of my favourite poet, Patrick Lane. I know artists at times resent comparisons, so please don’t take offence. I mean this only as a complement. I like that you create tension just by how you juxtapose one word against another. One of my favourite characteristics of Patrick Lane’s writing is his ability to see beauty in the strangest places. And to string unexpected words together and thereby create beauty out of an otherwise mundane or even ugly subject. His gift lies not only in how he sees things but more importantly in how he crafts a phrase.There are aspects of your writing that bring me the same pleasure that his poetry does. I like your ability to convey a feeling as well as a tableaux. I look forward to reading more of your work.

    You should check out Patrick Lane if you can find any of his books. His older work, in particular “Beware The Months Of Fire”, is incredibly raw and powerful. You may enjoy it.

    • zerocharisma Says:

      Thanks so much for the feedback and the comparison to a writer you adore! This, in no way, offends me. Once upon an insecure me, maybe. But, now it serves to bolster my confidence! I will check out Lane at your suggestion, as I am a huge advocate of the overlooked, and under-appreciated. I cannot thank you enough for the input. It helps guide the direction of my creativity, beyond that of my own will. Without the static of the outside world it is just white noise, a blank sheet of paper, and a struggle. ❤ #zerocharisma

Leave a Reply

